Spirituality and the passions

st-mark-the-ascetic-2The Stewardship of Spirituality
One area in our lives that requires very serious attention is the passions. These include pride, greed, lust, anger, gluttony, envy and sloth. Our Stewardship relates to how we give of our Time, Talents and Treasures to avoid and defeat these seven grievous sins. Each day we are challenged and each day we must put our pride aside, take less than we need, not desire items that we cannot have, only be angry at the devil, avoid overconsumption (and not just food), not feel animosity when someone else is blessed and not be lazy. This is very difficult but can be overcome with humility, liberality, chastity, mildness, temperance, happiness and diligence. No one said it would be easy, but it is necessary for our Salvation.

About mychristmycare

Guiding the Stewardship Committee, as part of the National Standing Committees of the Serbian Orthodox Church in the United States
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s